Yoga Bhakti – Om Namah Shivaya – Translated

Yoga Bhakti – Understanding the Self through Prayer – Om Namah Shivaya – Translated

Kundalini Yoga Chakra, Yoga Eight Limbs, Universal Energy, Dantian, Kundalini, Kriya, Sahasrara, Ajna, Vishuddha, Anahata, Manipura, Swadhisthana, Muladhara, Nadis

Yoga Bhakti is a form of chanting, prayer and Dhyana. Om Namah Shivaya is a prayer of devotion to the highest self.

Bhakti is usually performed with the Sangha, or on an individual basis 

Chanting has many purposes, it is a powerful tool in Yoga

Yoga Bhakti is part of Yoga like Asana or Meditation.

Yoga Bhakti guides the Yogi further along their journey within.

Group prayer strengthens the common goal of the community, deepening the connection with everyone chanting together.

Bhakti is important, chanting is the heart’s way to show the Mind our Spirits Dharma.

Om Namah Shivaya

Om Namah Shivaya Gurave

Sat Chit Ananda Murtaye

Nish Prepanchaya Shantaya 

Niralambaya Tejase


Repeat 3x before practice


Om Namah Shivaya Gurave – I salute/honor and devote myself to my highest Dharma,

Sat Chit Ananda Murtaye – The highest state of consciousness and existence

Nish Prepanchaya Shantaya – The highest self is bliss, and eternally peaceful

Niralambaya Tejase – I pray I dwell in the divinity of (the above)

The grammar in sanskrit is different.

Raised speaking aramaic as my first language, it is easier for me to understand the grammar and translate this correctly.

Put directly into english it would read backwards, from the end to the beginning. Either way it still has the same meaning.

I pray (to myself or the lord above) that I dwell in the divinity of my highest self, with eternal peace, and the understanding to devote myself to my highest purpose.


Sat Chit Ananda

Yoga Bhakti, Chakra, Kundalini Sahasrara, Ajna, Vishuddha, Anahata, Manipura, Swadhisthana, Muladhara, Nadis, bhakti, dharma, chanting, om namah shivaya

Key Terms:

  • Asana – Part of the Third Limb Yoga – Raja Yoga Poses – Over 840,000 different poses
  • Bhakti – Chanting, Devotion, or Prayer
  • Dharana –  Dharana means to Focus, One of the Yoga Eight Limb
  • Dharma – Divine Purpose, Higher Purpose, What sets every individual apart from everyone else.
  • Dhyana – Various Forms of Meditation, one of the Eight Limb Yoga
  • Karma – The law of giving and receiving. We Reap what we sow. everything given comes back, everything received is given.
  • Mantra – Intention, or thought given before Meditation to focus on
  • Sangha – Community
  • Yogi – Yoga Eight Limb practitioner

Principles and theory alone are never enough, we must train the Mind and Body to be one

Here is a guide to Beginners Yoga


Share This:

Ninos Ibraham

Ninos Ibraham has over 10000 hours of training in QiGong, Yoga, Bodybuilding, Weightlifting, Nutrition, Body Mechanics, The Human Movement System, Eastern Psychology. Ninos Used to weigh in at almost 400lbs over a decade ago. With research into nutrition, human movement science, martial arts and yoga, Ninos had an amazing 200 lb weight loss in 9 months. What makes it more amazing is that Ninos did this without the aide of doctors, personal trainers, surgical procedures, and magic weight loss pills. Ninos has been a plant based vegan athlete 95 % of the time over the last 11 years.

12 thoughts on “Yoga Bhakti – Om Namah Shivaya – Translated

  • January 2, 2017 at 6:45 pm

    yoga helps me through my day

  • January 21, 2017 at 3:24 am

    neat, thank you for the information

  • January 22, 2017 at 1:45 pm

    I recite this prayer from time to time

  • January 25, 2017 at 11:37 pm

    I love this article

  • January 26, 2017 at 5:06 am

    Thank you for the great information

  • February 5, 2017 at 4:34 pm

    my yoga teacher performs this once a week with our class

  • February 7, 2017 at 5:12 pm

    most of the translations available do not make sense

  • February 12, 2017 at 1:43 am

    yoga grounds me


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *