Eight Limbs Yoga

Eight Limbs Yoga – Practices

Principles of Yoga Eight Limbs seem like they can be common sense, however as we are all human, we are all capable of mistakes.

Eight Limbs Yoga shares the same pillars martial arts. Historically QiGong and Yoga originate from the Nepal \ Tibet area

Both of the Mind Body practices branched out to evolve their own unique flavors and systems of movement.

The two arts were used for war, as well as healing. In Martial Combat, the Survivor gets to pass his or her knowledge on to disciples.

I. Yamas – Abstinence 

The Five Practices of Yamas Include

  • Ahimsa Compassion
  • Satya Truthfulness
  • Asetya  Do Not Steal
  • Brahmacharya – Control of the Senses
  • Aparigraha Neutralize the Desire for Greed

II. NiYama – Rules, Laws, and Observances

The Five Practices of NiYamas Include

  • Sauca \ Saucham – Purity
  • Santosa Contentment
  • Tapas – Austerity, Proper Use of Our Energy and Focus
  • Svadhyaya – Self Study, the Study of Ancient Texts
  • Isvara Pranidhana – Live life with the thought that all of our actions are witnessed by our higher self

III. Asanas – Postures and Proper Exercise 

The Practices of Asanas Include

  • Raja – Yoga Poses 840,000
  • Mudras – Finger Positions that Open and Close the Prana (Energy) Channels inside the body
  • Bandhas – Contraction of Certain Muscles
  • Moksha – Relaxation of Certain Muscles
  • Prana –  The energy that flows through all creatures, the energy that permeates the Universe

IV. Pranayama – Recognition, Awareness, and Control of the Breath

Pranayama is a series of breath work exercises that regulate Prana. (Energy) through the control of our breath. The alignment of breath with thought and or movement

V. Pratyahara – Still the Mind

Pratyahara train the Mind to be cool, calm, collected. Pratyahara teaches how to observe thoughts without attachment. Studies of the Yoga Sutras is recommended

VI. Dharana – Focus

Dharana teaches how to be cool, calm, collected even in the most chaotic situations. Studies of the Yoga Sutras is recommended

VII. Dhyana – Meditation 

Yoga Nidra, Yogic Sleep, Sitting Meditation, Lying Meditation, Lucid Dreaming, and other Advanced meditations. Studies of the Yoga Sutras is recommended

VIII. Samadhi – Permanent Union with the Highest Self

Ultimate Consciousness. Studies of the Yoga Sutras is recommended


Practice of the Eight Limb Yoga gives us these handy tools

  • Emotional Intelligence
  • A Deeper Truth, How to Understand of Ourselves. Keep it Real!
  • Still the mind, stay calm and carefree in high stress situations
  • Allows the Mind to Tool the Body to Perform the Spirits Will
  • Helps The Practitioner Develop Compassion for All Living Creatures
  • Allows the Practitioner / Yogi to Hold a Higher Self Worth Over Material Objects
  • Transcend the Ego

Study the Sutras for more information




Share This: