Eight Limbs – A Quick Glance at Yoga Yama

In Depth Look Yoga Yama

In Depth Look Yoga Yama,. Yoga can be intimidating at a glance, this guide makes the Sanskrit understandable to all. Sat Chit Ananda

These are part the Eight Limbs of Sivananda, BKS Iyengar, from Patanjali’s Teachings

I. Yamas – Abstinence 

The Five Practices of Yamas Include

  • Ahimsa Compassion
  • Satya Truthfulness
  • Asetya  Do Not Steal
  • Brahmacharya – Control of the Senses
  • Aparigraha Neutralize the Desire for Greed

Yama are observances, and pillars means to have positive

I. Ahimsa – Having Compassion for All Living Things                                        

Himsa   – To Cause Pain, or the Causing of Pain

The Qualities of Ahimsa and Himsa

  • Satyam – Being Truthful, Not Lying
  • Asteyam – Non Stealing (Material)
  • Maha Vratam –  Vows to never break core principles

II. SATYA – Truth in Action and in Thought

” To one established in truthfulness and in action, results become subservient ” Sivananda 

  • Whatever the practitioner sets his focus or intent on will come
  • If the heart is pure In thought and in action blessings will come when spoken and curses will curse. We create our reality.

III. Asteya – Non Stealing

“To the one established in non stealing, All the wealth will come” – Sivananda 

  • Be Grateful to have air to breathe
  • Eliminate greed, as well as selfish actions and thoughts.
  • There must be a conscious effort put forth to cleanse the mind of
  • You only get the results desired if you put in the work, you get what you pay for, you get what you put in
  • Never think you can do a little and get a big amount in return
  • Let others tool you, or use you
  • If we all gave and shared, poverty would be non-existant
  • Find joy, and peace with what you have
  • Don’t worry about the past, because you are stealing time from the present. Everything happens for a reason and there is a blessing from every experience.
  • Plague everyone with joy

III. Brahmacharya – Control of the Senses

” To the one established in continence, Vigor is gained”  -Sivananda

  • Be Celibate – It conserves energy, and life force unless you really love the other on more than a physical level that is not lust
  • Never mentally or physically deplete the self
  • Be a loving and thoughtful friend
  • Balance or abstain from material, physical, or mental things that bring pleasure as they usually degrade the Mind and Body

There are 4 stages of  Ashrama

  1. Brahmacharya – Entering a relationship, or position for only physical or material reasons
  2. Grihastha – Create abundance, Financial, Spiritual, Health, Freedom of thought, or imagination
  3. Vanaprastha – Giving back to the next generation
  4. Sannyasa – Dropping off the care for material objects

Special note: This is an ancient saying, and may or may not be true. This is also in QiGong and it is called Life Force or Jing.
  • Ojas – By observing celibacy, we conserve energy
  • Tejas – After practicing celibacy for a while, the conserved energy transmutes into our Aura

Meditation helps one maintain observances to achieve a goal, one must train mind and body to achieve their goal. Check out this Yoga bodyweight Vinyasa exercise you can perform at home 



Share This: